Hello, Mnquma Local Municipality
welcomes you!

  • Citizens engaging leadership during the Mayoral Outreach

    Read More
  • Executive Mayor Councillor Tobeka Bikitsha addresses the community of Ward 28 during the Mayoral Imbizo held on 07 March 2017

    Read More
  • Executive Mayor Councillor Tobeka Bikitsha handing over tokens of appreciation during the Women`s Manyano Celebrations

    Read More
  • Executive Mayor Cllr Tobeka Bikitsha handing over school uniform to the needy at Msobomvu Community Hall

    Read More


Mnquma Local Municipality is located in the South Eastern part of the Eastern Cape Province. This category B municipality falls under the jurisdiction of the Amathole District Municipality (ADM) and comprises of an amalgamation of the former Butterworth, Ngqamakhwe and Centane TRC’s.Mnquma Municipaliy shares borders with three other local municipalities i.e. Mbhashe, Intsika Yethu and Great Kei Municipality. This also includes a number of previously administered rural areas. It is approximately 32 995 240 square kilometres and consists of 31 wards.

Mnquma Local Municipality has a total population of approximately 252 390 people, 99% of which are Xhosa speaking African. The remaining 1% of the population includes English, Afrikaans, Zulu and Sesotho speaking people. The municipality comprises of 54% female and 46% male of the total population and consists of approximately 75410 households.

Latest News

published 14 Mar 2017
The Executive Mayor of Mnquma Local Municipality, Councillor Thobeka Bikitsha held an Imbizo in Ward 28 on Tuesday March 7. The event was held at Nc... read more »
published 15 Nov 2016
A major blitz through the three main towns of Mnquma Local Municipality and surrounding areas improved environmental cleanliness and also helped to cl... read more »
published 14 Sep 2016
WOMEN FIGHT AGAINST HUNGER AND POVERTY” was the theme for the Mnquma Women’s Day Celebrations held on the 31st August 2016. Women all over the Mnquma ... read more »
published 15 Jul 2016
A strategic partnership signed between Mnquma Local Municipality and five renowned Eastern Cape tertiary institutions has raised the hopes of eradicat... read more »
published 1 Apr 2016
Mnquma Transport Indaba took place on 17 March 2016 at Msobomvu Grounds and the theme read more »

Latest Publications